top of page

How to write a cover letter

Updated: Mar 20, 2021

The cover letter should be a brief presentation of what your work is about. This should be a very brief two sentence suggestion of what exactly the piece is about.


For example, if I was writing a cover letter for The Burning Throne (Erica J. Kingdom) I would write something along the lines of: Boy sees his father kill his mother and want revenge. This is the most basic version, and specifically for the journal, this isn't something that you need to worry too much about.


Trigger warnings are always recommended in the cover letter. This could be as simple as: The Burning Throne contains possible triggering content such as themes of death


An example you can use:


Dear editor in cheif (if you want please address to me - Erica),


I'm hoping you will consider [piece name] for publication in [issue number: issue name].


The peice is [genre] about [insert two sentences about the piece].


Thank you for the time.


Yours sincerely,

[name]

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Wrong body

I know I'm in the wrong body, There isn't any rime or reason for the tragedy, I just know that I'm in the wrong body. I feel like an offbeat melody, not fitting the beats I'm meant to. No matter what

bottom of page