top of page

Brandon


Your mother kneeled before you, pressing her palm

to chest.

From pictures, she only knew the mountains

in Norway. You didn’t tell her

the wind smelled like fire when snow blazed,

shivering in your spiked boots.

She only knew the rivers in Iceland. You didn’t

tell her when clear waves died with the low tide,

when you fell to your knees, heaving,

and you blacked out while your fingers turned

to sand, turned to water.

Still your mother cupped your cheeks, expecting you

to breathe.

 

Rachael Crosbie (she/they) tweets things about She-Ra and The Princesses of Power, cats, and her fiance. She has poems forthcoming or published in ALL GUTS NOT GLORY, Dead Fern Press, Wrongdoing Magazine, and others. Also, they have two chapbooks forthcoming in April: Swerve (2021) and MIXTAPES (2021).

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Evanescent

Eventually, when I look at you there will only be a gaping nothingness, And I’ll miss you as the stars yearn for the morning light. But our fates are forever entwined into the threads of time, so when

Unmarked

There isn't a part of me unmarked by grease and dirt, Deep in my skin it tunnels for fresh flesh, No part of me unhurt, Soft pale hands cupped with water can't clean me, They say I am tainted broken n

bottom of page